Palos Residents Named 2019 'Seniors Of The Year' (November 6, 2019)

Lorraine Swanson
November 6, 2019

PALOS, IL — Three Palos residents were named "Senior Citizens of the Year" at an awards luncheon hosted by Congressman Dan Lipinski. Recipients were chosen were based on their contributions to their communities in Illinois Third Congressional District.

Patrick O'Connor, of Palos Hills, and Palos Park residents Charles Wells and Laura Wells were among 15 award recipients from various communities around the district.

"These men and women dedicate countless hours to make their communities great places to live," Rep. Lipinski said in a news release. "We owe them so much for their efforts and I'm proud to recognize them for the great work that they do."

The other 2019 Senior Citizen of the Year Award winners are: Thaddeus "Ted" Bojanowski, Summit; Jerry Capps, Romeoville; Orella M. Good, Justice; Audrey Heitman, Tinley Park; Jeanine Jasica, Western Springs; William R. Kuda, Chicago; Carole Mitchell, Bridgeview; Larry Mitchell, Bridgeview; Jan Posch, Willow Springs; Frank Przytula, Burbank; Gregory Serratore, Tinley Park; and Sue Solcani, Chicago.

To be eligible for the award, a senior must be nominated by the leader of an organization or an official from their community. Several hundred seniors have been nominated since the program's inception.