Lipinski Enthusiastic About Senate Introduction of H-Prize Legislation


Congressman Dan Lipinski, joined by Senator Lindsey Graham (SC)
and Congressman Bob Inglis (SC), speaks out enthusiastically about
the movement of the H-Prize legislation in the Senate.

WASHINGTON, DC - On Wednesday, May 10, the U.S. House of Representatives overwhelmingly passed H.R. 5143, The H-Prize Act of 2006, co-sponsored by Rep. Dan Lipinski (IL-3rd), to promote development of hydrogen energy sources. This legislation establishes competitively awarded cash prizes for scientific breakthroughs in the advancement of hydrogen energy technology. With clean water vapor as its only emission, hydrogen holds great promise as a fuel, though much research and development is needed before this resource will be commercially viable.

U.S. Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC) and Byron Dorgan (D-ND) today introduced companion legislation in the Senate.

Congressman Lipinski released the following statement:

"I am very pleased that Senators Graham and Dorgan have introduced this important bipartisan legislation in the U.S. Senate. Hydrogen holds great promise to meet many of our future energy needs, and it addresses national security and environmental concerns. We all know about hydrogen's potential and the great threat continued dependence on fossil fuels holds for America - now we need the vision to inspire our country to meet this challenge. The H-Prize has the potential to be this inspiration, to spur the imagination and creativity of researchers, entrepreneurs, and our youth to meet the greatest challenge of our time."

(May 12, 2006)