Lipinski Names 2019 "All-American Boy and Girl" Winners

Congressman Dan Lipinski (IL-3) held his annual “All-American Boy and Girl Program” awards ceremony for 7th and 8th grade students Monday night at Moraine Valley Community College in Palos Hills.  One hundred finalists were recognized at the event out of the more than 1,000 students who applied for the award. The top 100 underwent formal interviews with a panel of judges, who then selected first, second, and third place winners in each category. Criteria for the award includes academic achievement, community involvement, and extracurricular activities.

“The All-American Boy and Girl Program awards ceremony is one of my favorite events every year,” said Lipinski. “This is a program with a long, rich tradition and it makes me so proud every time I come in contact with a former award winner who has gone on to have great success in life. This year’s finalists have all worked very hard in and out of the classroom making a difference in their communities and I commend them on all they’ve been able to accomplish at such a young age.  Congratulation to all of our winners as well as their families, teachers, coaches, clergy, friends, and others who have helped them to become well-rounded young men and women. They are destined to do great things.”


The top students in each grade are:

• Seventh Grade Girls: Tegan Taff – St. Cajetan (1st Place); Emily Amann – St. Dennis (2nd Place); Alessandra Sarno – St. Alphonsus / St. Patrick (3rd Place)


• Seventh Grade Boys: Sean Dusak – St. Joseph of Lockport (1st Place); John Paul Ramirez – Everest Academy (2nd Place); Seamus Hanley – St. Catherine (3rd Place)


• Eighth Grade Girls: Taylor Curran – St. Catherine (1st Place); Demetra Katerina Feradouros – Koreas Elementary School (2nd Place); Ciara Hosty – St. Gerald (3rd Place) 


• Eighth Grade Boys: Conor Zech – St. John of the Cross (1st Place); Max Kulaga – St. Cyril and Methodius School (2nd Place), John Vranas – Koreas Elementary (3rd place – tie); Allan Potter – Mt. Greenwood Elementary (3rd Place – tie)


Each finalist was awarded a certificate for their hard work and superior essay.  The 13 winners were given a plaque and a gift card.  


Guest speakers at the event included State Rep. Kelly Burke (D-Evergreen Park) and Summit Mayor Sergio Rodriguez.