Rep. Lipinski Announces Service Academy Nominees

Congressman Dan Lipinski (IL-3) announced today that he is nominating 22 students from the 3rd Congressional District for admission to the U.S. Service Academies for the entering classes of 2015.  The nominees were recognized by Rep. Lipinski for their achievement at a ceremony on Saturday at the Johnson-Phelps VFW Post 5220 in Oak Lawn.

“One of the duties of this office that I cherish the most is the honor to nominate young men and women for our nation's prestigious service academies,” said Rep. Lipinski.  “Every year, applications pour into my offices from the district’s best and brightest students.  The selection of nominees is based upon a strict ‘whole person’ evaluation, so just to be nominated to one of our nation’s service academies is an incredible honor.  I have no doubt that each of these nominees will make significant contributions wherever life takes them.  Above all, I am impressed by their unwavering commitment to serving their community and country.”


The nominees are:


·         U.S. Air Force Academy:  Ryan Kairis, of Chicago, Marist High School; Andrew Lezon, of Western Springs, Lyons Township High School; Robert Schaefer, of  La Grange, Fenwick High School; Charles Schramka, of La Grange, Lyons Township High School


·         U.S. Military Academy (West Point):  Ethan Cook, of Orland Park, Carl Sandburg High School; Thomas Egan, of Chicago, Whitney Young Magnet High School; Ian Murdoch, of Western Springs, Culver Military  Academy; Zachary Sowatzke, of Homer Glen, Shepherd High School


·         Merchant Marine Academy:  Jonathan Cline, of Chicago, De La Salle Institute; Ryan Stowell, of La Grange, St. John’s Northwestern Military Academy          


·         U.S. Naval Academy:  Alexander Benoit, of Chicago, Marist High School; Mitchell Ciszewski, of La Grange, Lyons Township High School; Abagail Evans, of Tinley Park, Victor J. Andrew High School; Thomas Hampston, of Palos Park, Marist High School; Connor Koehler, of Lemont, Lemont High School; Peter Parrilli, of Chicago, Brother Rice High School; Jacob Rost, of Orland Park, Providence Catholic High School; Matthew Sebok, of Chicago, Brother Rice High School; Jakob Swenson, of Homer Glen, Providence Catholic High School; Amanda Walsh, of La Grange, IL Mathematics and Science Academy; Carl Weydeman, of Chicago, St. Rita High School; Kristen Young, of La Grange, Lyons Township High School


The admissions departments of the service academies make the final decision on acceptance.  Each of the nominees will be notified by the service academies if they have been accepted.

  • Alert