Rep. Lipinski Congratulates "All-American Boy and Girl" Winners

Congressman Dan Lipinski (IL-3) held his annual “All-American Boy and Girl” Award Ceremony for 7th and 8th grade students on Thursday at Moraine Valley Community College in Palos Hills.  103 finalists were selected from over one thousand applicants to appear before a panel of judges for a formal interview.  Following the interviews, 14 winners were selected, four girls (tie for third place) and three boys from each grade.

“We had an incredible group of young people from across the district to choose from this year,” Rep. Lipinski said.  “The finalists have stood out among their peers, doing well in school, participating in extra-curricular activities, and contributing to their communities.  I enjoy doing this program every year because it makes me more optimistic about the future.  I want to congratulate all of our winners and their families as well as everyone who has had a hand in shaping the lives of these exemplary middle-schoolers.  I wish them the best and encourage them to continue working hard and staying active in making their communities and our nation better.”

The top three in each grade are:

• Seventh grade girls:  Melissa Wojcik, St. Rene Goupil Elementary School (1); Alexa Catezone, Pleasantdale Middle School (2); Natalie Tejeda, St. Rene Goupil Elementary School (3); Maeve Kozicki, Bridgeport Catholic Academy (3)

• Seventh grade boys:  William Bozue, St. Alphonsus/ St. Patrick School (1); Ryan Boots, A. Vito Martinez Middle School (2); Logan Radgowski, Trinity Lutheran School (3)

• Eighth grade girls:  Natalia Mendez, St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick (1); Taylor Healy, John H. Kinzie Elementary School (2); Farah Elhoumaidi, Worth Junior High School (3); Grace Pukala, John H. Kinzie Elementary School (3)

• Eighth grade boys:  Andrew Yock, St. George School (1); Bryan Croce, John J. Lukancic Middle School (2); Austin Monaco-Genschaw, Santa Lucia School (3)

Each finalist was awarded a certificate for their hard work and superior essay.  The 14 winners were awarded a special plaque and other prizes.