Rep. Lipinski Honors Students Nominated for U.S. Service Academies

Congressman Dan Lipinski (IL-3) has nominated 18 young men and women from the Third Congressional District for admission to the U.S. Service Academies.  The nominees were honored by Lipinski for their achievement at a ceremony today at Johnson-Phelps VFW Post 5220 in Oak Lawn.

“One of the duties of this office that I cherish the most is the honor to nominate young men and women for our country’s prestigious service academies,” Rep. Lipinski told the nominees.  “Every year, applications come into my office from the district’s best and brightest students who have demonstrated the ability to lead and have the heart and courage to serve our nation.  Thank you for your willingness to serve others.  With you as our future leaders, I know our nation will be in good hands.”

The nominees are:

U.S. Air Force Academy: Giselle Andrade, of Chicago, Morton West HS; Nicholas Baumel, of Western Springs, Nazareth Academy; Ryan Celestino, of Crest Hill, Lockport Township HS; Jake Cooley, of Homer Glen, Illinois Math and Science Academy; Kurt Hillebrand, of Romeoville; James Miranda Jr., of Indian Head Park, Randolph Macon Academy; Nathan Ocampo, of Brookfield, Lyons Township HS; Alexander Pup, of Chicago, Fenwick HS

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy: Katherine Sanchez, of Chicago, Marist HS

U.S. Military Academy (West Point): Mary Foley, of Orland Park, Carl Sandburg HS; Justin Hobart, of Palos Heights, Amos Alonzo Stagg HS; Joseph Imburgia, of Lockport, Lockport Township HS; Evan Lee, of Romeoville, Romeoville HS; Luis Martinez, of Chicago, Phoenix Military Academy; Joseph McGuire, of Chicago, St. Ignatius College Prep HS

U.S. Naval Academy: Jacquelyn Doyle, of Western Springs, Fenwick HS; William Flowers, of Orland Hills, Victor J. Andrew HS; Jake Karczewski, of Chicago, Montini Catholic HS

The admissions department for each of the service academies makes the final decision on acceptance.

  • Alert