Lipinski Praises Decision Not to Cut Trains on Metra's Southwest Service (September 19, 2011)

Today, Congressman Dan Lipinski (IL-3) issued the following statement:

“Metra’s Board of Directors made the right decision today in rejecting a proposal to cut weekend and weekday service on the Southwest Service line. The impact of cutting Southwest Service on Metra’s budget deficit would have been negligible, but the impact on the public would have been significant. I’m glad the board heeded the letter I sent this week along with 21 other elected officials strongly objecting to the proposed cuts. I encourage Metra to seek ways to increase its efficiency so that it can select options for trimming its deficit that do the least harm to the public and to future ridership. Having led the effort that resulted in the establishment of weekend service in 2009, I know how important it is to residents of both southwest Cook County and northeast Will County. I look forward to continuing to ensure an adequate level of service along the line.”

Metra’s Board had been presented with a proposal to eliminate weekend service on three lines, including SWS, and eliminate weekday service between 179th Street and Manhattan on two trains. Under that plan, Southwest Service riders would have lost all six Saturday trains plus some weekday service while eight other lines would have seen no cuts whatsoever. Yet the cuts to Southwest Service would have saved less than one tenth of one percent of Metra’s operating budget.

Joining Congressman Lipinski in sending the letter to Metra this week were Alsip Mayor Patrick Kitching, Burbank Mayor Harry Klein, Bridgeview Mayor Steven Landek, Chicago 13th Ward Ald. Marty Quinn, Chicago 18th Ward Ald. Lona Lane, Chicago Ridge Mayor Eugene Siegel, Evergreen Park Mayor James J. Sexton, Hickory Hills Mayor Michael Howley, Hometown Mayor Kevin Casey, Homer Glen Mayor James Daley Jr., Manhattan Mayor William A. Borgo, Chicago 23rd Ward Ald. Michael Zalewski, New Lenox Mayor Tim Baldermann, Oak Lawn Mayor Dave Heilmann, Orland Hills Mayor Kyle Hastings, Orland Park Mayor Daniel J. McLaughlin, Palos Heights Mayor Robert Straz, Palos Hills Mayor Gerald Bennett, Palos Park Mayor John Mahoney, Tinley Park Mayor Edward Zabrocki, and Worth Mayor Randy Keller.

(September 19, 2011)


  • Alert