Lipinski Receives "Extra Mile Award" from Active Transportation Alliance (February 23, 2016)

Congressman Dan Lipinski (IL-3) received the Extra Mile Award last night during the Active Transportation Alliance’s 30th Anniversary Soiree for his continued support for cleaner, healthier transportation in the region and across the nation.  The Active Transportation Alliance is a non-profit advocacy organization that works to improve conditions for bicycling, walking, and transit, and engage people in healthy and active ways to get around.

As the most senior member from Illinois on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and a life-long cyclist and runner, Lipinski worked last year to pass the first long-term road and transit bill in 10 years and ensure an increase in funding for public transit as well as bike and pedestrian projects.  He successfully fought against cuts that would have been devastating to the CTA’s rapid transit modernization plans and helped create a program that can provide funding for the installation of safety equipment by Metra.  Lipinski also added amendments to speed Amtrak’s development of a roll-on bike service and promote deployment of zero-emission buses.  In addition, he spearheaded a successful effort in December to expand and permanently extend a tax benefit for commuters who use public transit.      

“I am incredibly honored to receive the highest award given by the Active Transportation Alliance,” stated Rep. Lipinski.  “I learned early in life the importance of active transportation.  I remember enjoying my walk to grammar school, getting freedom with my Sears ten-speed bike, and taking the CTA bus to high school.  Since then, I’ve continued to utilize all these forms of transportation, and I have worked in Congress to increase access to these healthy and clean transportation options that reduce congestion on our crowded roads.  I thank the Active Transportation Alliance for this award and, more importantly, for all their work promoting active transportation.”

Other honorees who received public service awards were former Chicago Tribune transportation reporter Jon Hilkevitch and an advocate for the Major Taylor Trail, Peter Taylor.

  • Alert